Di West
  home     galleries    curriculum vitae    news & text    contacts    mailing list    copyright   
 

a day in the life of Di..............

6 years ago, my husband, my cat and I moved to the lush surrounds of Maleny, in the hinterland behind the Sunshine Coast, after living the majority of our lives in the city of Brisbane. This move really influenced my work as I started to take in the visual delights of birds, cows and horses.

However, we are now back in Brisbane, right in the suburbs.....and once again I just know this move will impact on my work. We decided to move as the one hour commute just wasn't ideal to a good lifestyle.....so in light of that, here I am in my new studio and I can't believe the beautiful light.

When I was a child, I was a constant visitor to the old Queensland Art Gallery (previously near the Royal National Exhibition Grounds). I wanted to live there! I knew then that I wanted to always be surrounded by art.

I have always been a keen collector of contemporary art, art books and vintage toys and fail miserably at minimalism!


the view from my studio - every day the glasshouse mountains take on a whole new look of mystery my downstairs studio has beautiful natural light Sculpture - a new Star Man - I try to add two new works every year in this collectible series my studio - cows, cows and more cows here's my studio desk and in the background a selection of vintage toys from the depression era one of my collections - vintage samplers we created a gallery space in my home for viewings stairs to dry studio, a mezzanine area where I can draw and muck about with paper assemblage - the old sign is from the Brisbane Exhibition, one of my treasures! endless lifting - paintings on and off easels, on and off walls Di & Smokey ( Smokey is a Burmilla, he is 12 years old and not showing his age a bit) these cows appear right beside my studio windows - they come in all kinds of gelati colours! storm arriving - a photo I took recently, the city of Brisbane is highlighted in sunlight, it was about 4pm