home     galleries    Shop    curriculum vitae    news & text    contacts    mailing list    copyright   

Local artists acknowledged

Barrier Miner Newspaper

3 July 2008

Broken Hill’s Artists’ Walk of Fame will have an additional seven artists joining the 39 already featured in Argent Street.
The artists’ names were announced at the South Rotary Presidents Changeover Dinner last Saturday by outgoing president Bill Parker and include Julie Hart, Roxanne Minchin, Mick Andrich, Sue Hodge, Amanda Johnson, Deirdre Edwards and Ian Lewis.
South Rotary spokesman, David Tunkin, said that their names will be inscribed onto bronze plaques and placed in the footpath on the main street.
It has been eight years since the club inducted the original 39 artists. Mr Tunkin said the Walk of Fame was inspired by the bronze star plates in Hollywood and recognised artists who have made a substantial contribution to the art scene in Broken Hill and helped build the city’s reputation as a mecca for artists.
Artists were presented with a keepsake bronze plaque. Ms Hodge said as a relative newcomer to Broken Hill she was overwhelmed to be selected.
The dinner to welcome incoming president Paul Armstrong was held at the Barrier Social Democratic Club and attended by over 75 Rotary members, partners and guests. The new board was announced with officer’s contribution as members totalling 97 years of service to the Broken Hill community.
With the theme for the coming year “Make Dreams Real”, various projects and organisations were announced as beneficiaries of $13,000 in contributions. This included $1,500 towards a youth seminar to combat alcohol abuse to be held on July 28 for Year 11 school students, $2,000 for TAFE apprenticeship training, $1,600 to Meals on Wheels for equipment upgrade, $1,400 for SES for vehicle repairs and monetary support for other projects.